Photo Credit: Canal Trust
An overnight stay in Lockhouse 6 is an unforgettable experience - perfect for families, cyclists, and history buffs alike!
Known as "Magazine Lock" after the US Powder Magazine that was just upstream, lock 6 was where the canal truly began in 1828. Lockhouse 6 was originally built in the 1830s, but destroyed by the flood of 1847 and rebuilt in 1848. The historic lockhouse has been rehabilitated and furnished by the National Park Service, and its partner group, the C&O Canal Trust. As part of the award-winning Canal Quarters program, visitors can spend the night in the lockhouse and experience canal life in the 1950s and '60s. The lockhouse is fully decorated in that time period to help tell the story of the preservation efforts that led the canal to become a National Historical Park.To reach Lockhouse 6 from Georgetown, the easiest way to get their is via an easy 10 mile round-trip bike ride: